Gold Country Writers


Welcome to the website of Gold Country Writers, forging better writers!

Thanks for visiting our website.





August Programs
August 21, 2024 @ 10:00 am – 12:00 noon, PDT

Join us for two Special Programs

The Mentorship Presentation — with moderator Kathryn Shields and mentees Tzeli Triantafillou, Pat Snelling, and Mary Mohs. 

The Self-Publishing Presentation — with moderator Susan Korn and panelists Phyllis Kalbach, Barbara Young, Kathryn Shields, and Michael O’Haver. 

September Speaker – EJ DeBrun

September 18, 2024 @ 10:00 am – 12:00 noon, PDT

Our speaker will be EJ DeBrun
Her subject will be

How to Make Your Fiction Realer Than Real.”

This meeting will be held in the Rose Room at Auburn City Hall.
The public is invited. The meeting is free to attend.

Click here for Rose Room address, map, and directions. Also, info on Rose Room parking, now offsite only.

EJ DeBrun is a former animator with a Master’s degree in Animation from Savannah College of Art and Design. During her time in the film and television industry, she worked with many veteran industry professionals at studios such as Nickelodeon and Lucasfilms Animation. She has also written for television at an independent studio. Having left the industry, she now uses her creative experience to write fiction in the science fiction and fantasy genre.


Gold Country Writers Members Are Medal-Winning Finalists for International Awards

Dorothe Kress, “The Risk: Forbidden Love Behind the Iron Curtain,” and Kathryn Shields, “On the Point of a Star,” are medal-winning finalists in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards 2024. The NGIBA is the largest international awards program established to recognize and honor the most exceptional independently published books. Congratulations to both authors!!



Dorothe Kress and Kathryn Shields, winning finalists in Next Generation Indie Book Awards. Great that our members are winning finalists in an international contest! See article in the Auburn Journal!

The winners of the 2024 Gold Country Writers Poetry Contest: First place Catharine Brankamp; Second place Lisa Schliff; Third place Leslie Warren.  The 16 entries were judged by three published poets. Leslie Warren’s poem, “Baja Morning,” took third place. Lisa Schliff’s, “Downhill Slide,” took second place. Catharine Bramkamp’s  “Lilith,” took first place. The celebration was held on April 3, 2024. 






Regular Monthly Meetings on Wednesdays

1st Wednesday of every month – Business Meeting

2nd Wednesday of every month – Drop-in Critique

3rd Wednesday of every month – Guest Speakers & Workshops

4th Wednesday of every month – Drop-in Critique

5th Wednesday of certain months – Social Event

In-person meetings are normally held at The Rose Room, Auburn City Hall
Click here for Rose Room at City Hall map, address, and directions. Also, info on Rose Room parking.

Thank You!


Questions or corrections? Please reach out to the webmaster if you have website questions, comments or corrections.